Elba Public School Board May 11, 2020 Regular Monthly Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 8:00 p.m. by President Robyn Dvoracek. President Dvoracek stated that the meeting was in compliance with the Nebraska Open Meetings Act as posted in the room and read the publication of the meeting. Roll call of members present: Robyn Dvoracek, Jenise Graves, Michael Higgins, Kristina Radke, Robyn Rasmussen, and Terry Spilinek. Other present included: Superintendent Ted Classen, Principal Annice Marlow and members of the public.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Radke to approve the agenda with the following modifications: add Item H. Repair Hydrant in Concession Building to the discussion items. Yes – Higgins, Radke, Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6 - 0.

The board heard a Celebration of Excellence for the Ag Department receiving a \$2,000 grant from Farm Credit Services of America which will go toward the purchase of a saw stop table saw. Students had the option to submit research projects to the State FFA Contest. Deanna Fanta is a finalist with her hamster maze training project and Bridgette Snyder is also a finalist with her plant lighting experiment. The winners of the categories will be chosen and announced at a later date. Bridgette Snyder, Joseph Wysocki, Jasmine Halsey, Hunter Snyder and Alisia Pallicca submitted their papers so they will be receiving the \$500 scholarship should they choose to attend the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

No public comments were heard. The Principal and AD reports were given. Board committee reports were also given.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Spilinek to approve items on the consent agenda including Minutes from the regular meeting held April 13, 2020 and the Monthly Financial report and Payment of the Bills including payroll in the amount of \$180,224.73. Yes – Radke, Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Higgins, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6 – 0

The Board heard information on the following discussion items: 2020-2021 School Calendar, 2020-2021 Handbooks, Staff Contracts, Graduation, Extra-Duty Assignments, Bus Purchase and Repairs on the hydrant in the Concession Building.

Motion by Radke, seconded by Higgins to approve Shayla Polen and Layne Paczosa for the 2020 Graduation. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Higgins, Radke, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Radke to approve hiring Kurt's Lawn Care Service to provide lawn maintenance for the 2020 season. Yes –Higgins, Radke, Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6– 0.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Radke to approve employing Non-Certified Staff on the list presented, for the 2020-2021 school year, including a 1.7% increase in wages. Yes – Higgins, Radke, Rasmussen, Dvoracek, Graves. No – 0. Abstain – Spilinek. Motion carried 5 – 0.

Motion by Spilinek, seconded by Higgins to approve Saturday, June 13, 2020 at 2:00PM at the football field as the date, place and time for the 2020 Graduation. If DHM is extended the June, the Graduation will be virtual. Yes – Graves, Higgins, Radke, Spilinek, Dvoracek, Rasmussen. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Higgins, seconded by Graves to accept the resignation of Wendy McKoski effective at the end of the 2019-2020 school year, with regrets. Yes – Graves, Radke, Higgins, Dvoracek, Spilinek, Rasmussen. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Spilinek to table the acceptance of the resignation of Sam Polk from the Activities Director position until June 8, 2020. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Dvoracek, Graves, Radke, Higgins. No – 0. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Spilinek to approve the Facilities and Transportation Committee hiring a service to clean and repair the North district house prior to the new Superintendent moving in on June 19th. Yes – Higgins, Radke, Rasmussen, Dvoracek, Graves, Spilinek. No – O. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Higgins to go into Executive Session to discuss district housing issues. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Higgins, Radke, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6 – 0. President declared the Board in Executive Session at 8:58 PM. With no action being taken, the Board was declared out of Executive Session at 9:44 PM.

Motion by Graves, seconded by Spilinek to adjourn. Yes – Rasmussen, Spilinek, Graves, Higgins, Radke, Dvoracek. No – 0. Motion carried 6 - 0.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:46 PM. The next regular meeting is June 8, 2020 at 8:00 p.m.

Robyn Rasmussen Board Secretary